Jonathan Waterman

Adventurer, conservationist and award winning author/photographer Jonathan Waterman will talk about his journey from adventurer to conservationist. His latest, hour-long “Evolution of an Adventurer” presentation encapsulates his Northern Exposures book, elucidating Waterman’s journalist career, from ducking avalanches near the Gulf of Alaska to following an aerial wolf poacher around the Interior or kayaking across the Arctic. By utilizing images, video and storytelling, the author details his experiences live from the podium as a mountaineer and wilderness traveler paying it forward as a conservationist.

Jonathan Waterman started shooting photographs on his expeditions three decades ago, but also found his calling and is principally known as a writer. He has starred in, filmed, and written films for television, including “The Logan Challenge” (PBS, 1991), “Surviving Denali” (ESPN, 1994), “Odyssey Among the Inuit” (OLN, 2000), ANWR Trek (PBS 2007), and “Chasing Water” (Pete McBride films, 2011) .

He’s mostly known for his time exploring the North, detailed in seven of his twelve books and in journals such as the Washington Post, The New York Times, Adventure, Hooked On the Outdoors, Outside, Backpacker, Climbing, and Rock and Ice. In 2007, he turned his focus to the rivers of the Southwest, beginning with an arduous journey and research project on the Colorado River, and in 2011, with an extensive aerial and repeat photography investigation of 16 diminished rivers (all carrying Colorado River water) from the Rio Grande to the Green.

To support his work, he has received three grants from the National Geographic Society Expeditions Council, two grants from the Walton Family Foundation, and grants from the Storer Foundation,, the Kenney Brothers Foundation, New Belgium Brewing, Patagonia, and the Campion Foundation.

Jon’s awards:*

The Banff Book Festival’s Best Adventure Travel book (1995, 2001, 2010)

Sigurd Olson Nature Writing Award (2006)

NEA Literary Fellowship (2004)

Colorado State Council of the Arts Literary Award (2003)

The American Alpine Club Literary Award (1996)

The National Park Service Special Achievement Award (1984)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *